Re: Call for Entries - 48th Ann Arbor Film Festival

From: donald harrison (email suppressed)
Date: Mon Jul 27 2009 - 16:36:34 PDT

Our call for entries in the 48th Ann Arbor Film Festival is now open
for new work.
This past March the AAFF screened 125 films in the awards competition
provided $20,000 in awards - mostly cash. In 2009, more than half of
our films
exhibited were experimental and most were shorts under 40 minutes in
The full program line-up from our recent 47th festival is here.

For anyone who's screened past work at the AAFF, we're reducing the
entry fee by 50%.
You'd need to submit through our PDF application (not withoutabox) and
write "alumni09"
on the form when you mail in with your entry.



Donald Harrison
Executive Director

The 48th Ann Arbor Film Festival
March 23 - 28, 2010

Bold visions. Adventurous Ideas. Skillfully crafted. Artistically
These are the kinds of films sought for the 48th Ann Arbor Film
the longest-running festival of independent, experimental and art-driven
films in North America.

All lengths and genres of independent film considered:
experimental, animation, documentary, narrative, music videos and
genre hybrids

+ More than $20,000 awarded to films in competition
+ Qualifying festival for Annual Academy Awards in shorts category
+ Select films paid to screen on the AAFF Traveling Tour

Early deadline August 17, 2008 = $30
Standard deadline October 5, 2008 = $40
Late deadline November 2, 2008 = $50

At the 47th AAFF, award winners included Deborah Stratman, Jennifer
Telcosystems, Pavel Medvedev, Neil Beloufa, Julie Murray, Peter Rose,
Stephen Connolly,
Barbara Hammer and Fred Worden. The 47th awards were selected by a
jury of Emily Hubley,
Robert Todd and Betzy Bromberg. To see the complete list of award
winners, visit the 47th website.

The Ann Arbor Film Festival is a community-driven non-profit dedicated
supporting bold, visionary filmmakers, advancing the art form of film
and new media, and
engaging communities with remarkable cinematic experiences.

Founded in 1963 by University of Michigan professor George Manupelli
as an alternative forum for films
outside of the mainstream movie industry, the AAFF has showcased the
early works of thousands
of influential filmmakers and artists, including: Kenneth Anger, Yoko
Ono, Andy Warhol, George Lucas,
Gus Van Sant, Agnes Varda, Bruce Conner and Barbara Hammer. Visit
  for more info.

For info on FrameWorks, contact Pip Chodorov at <email suppressed>.