FW: FREE TICKETS to Flaherty Awards program, Monday, Oct. 15 @ 7 pm

From: Ed Halter (email suppressed)
Date: Sun Oct 14 2007 - 16:56:30 PDT

Hi there

There are some free tickets available to this for Frameworkers in NYC. See
below for info. If youčre around, please come!

Ed Halter

------ Forwarded Message
From: Mary Kerr <email suppressed>
Date: Sun, 14 Oct 2007 19:20:39 -0400
Subject: FREE TICKETS to Flaherty Awards program, Monday, Oct. 15 @ 7 pm

The first FIVE people to RSVP to email suppressed, will receive two
complimentary tickets to the Flaherty's Leo & Samu Awards.

Come celebrate the achievements of Jon Alpert, Mable Haddock, and Jeff
SHEILA NEVINS of HBO and JACQUIE JONES of the National Black Programming
Consortium just added to the program.
Food, wine, film, and good times!

RSVP to email suppressed before 4:00 pm, Monday, Oct. 15. You will be
notified by email if you will have tickets waiting for you at WILL CALL
(inside the Walter Reade Theater lobby). RSVP good for you and a guest.

2007 Leo & Samu Awards
Please join us on Monday, October 15 for this year's Leo Awards which will
honor filmmaker Jon Alpert, programmer Mable Haddock, and Jeff Scher who
will be receiving the Samu Award for his short animated work, You Won't
Remember This. Sheila Nevins (HBO), Jacquie Jones (National Black
Programming Consortium) and Jim Dratfield, Leo Dratfield's son, will also be
speaking. The celebration will take place at the Walter Reade theater in
Lincoln Center and will begin at 7:00 pm with a wine and hors d'oeuvre
reception in the Furman Gallery, just adjacent to the theater, followed by
the 8:00 pm ceremony. In addition to Jeff Scher's film, we will also be
screening excerpts selected by Mable Haddock from the National Black
Programming Consortium's series AfroPOP which captures insiders' viewpoints
about Africa and explores Black identity both on the African continent and
in the Diaspora, as well as selections from Jon Alpert's works.

TICKET INFORMATION Tickets are $11 for the general public, or $7 (with
appropriate ID) if you are a student or a member of the Film Society of
Lincoln Center, the IFP, NY Women in Film & Television, Shooting People, or
DCTV. Tickets are available at www.filmlinc.com/wrt/onsale/leoawards.html
or at the box office. The Walter Reade Theater is located at 165 W 65, plaza
level; New York, New York 10023. For more information you can also call
(212) 875-5600.

Jon Alpert has won three Primetime Emmy Awards, 11 News and Documentary
Emmy Awards and one National Emmy for Sports Programming. Over the past 30
years, he has consistently gained access to behind-the-scenes events of
historical significance and interviewed world leaders when other reporters
were not allowed in. After the Vietnam War, he was one of the first American
TV crew to film in Vietnam. When Fidel Castro came to address the United
Nations in 1979, he and his team were the only non-Cubans allowed access.
From 1993 to 2002, he was the only reporter to interview Saddam Hussein.
Alpert has a history of bringing visibility to the invisible and more than a
hundred of his reports from Cambodia, Cuba, the former Soviet Union, China,
Nicaragua, the Philippines, Iran, Korea, Kosovo, Afghanistan, Iraq and all
parts of the United States have been widely broadcasted on NBC, ABC, CBS,
HBO, PBS, ESPN, Canadian and Japanese major networks. Alpert is the
Co-founder of the Downtown Community Television Center (DCTV), the United
States' largest and most honored non-profit community media center which is
located in a landmark firehouse in New York City's Chinatown.

Mable Haddock is the founding President and former Chief Executive Officer
of the National Black Programming Consortium (NBPC). She has been the
driving force behind NBPC initiatives for over 20 years. Her keen business
sense and strong artistic vision have parlayed NPBC into one of the leading
and most trusted sources of funding and inspiration for countless African
American and African filmmakers. Since 1990 over six million dollars in NBPC
funds have been dispersed to independent filmmakers. Haddock, a graduate of
Mercy College, holds a Certificate of Public Broadcast Management from the
Wharton School of Business, and brings a hands-on brand of expertise to
NBPC. Career highlights include contributing writer for Dialogue Magazine,
Co-Producer of The Fannie Lou Hamer Story, Mandela (Blue Ribbon Women in
Communications Award), The State of Black America, Black America: Facing the
Millennium, The Murder of Emmett Till which won an Emmy Award and Special
Jury Prize at the Sundance Film Festival, and media panelist for Ohio Arts
Council, Pennsylvania Council for the Arts, the Jerome Foundation and the
National Endowment for the Arts (NEA).

Jeff Scher is a painter who makes experimental films and an experimental
filmmaker who paints. His work is in the permanent collection of the Museum
of Modern Art and the Hirshhorn Museum, and has been screened at the
Guggenheim Museum, the Pompidou Center in Paris, the San Francisco Museum of
Modern Art, and at many film festivals around the world, including opening
night at the New York Film Festival. Scher has also had two solo shows of
his paintings, which have also been included in many group shows in New York
galleries. Additionally, he has created commissioned work for HBO, HBO
Family, PBS, the Sundance Channel and more. Scher teaches graduate courses
at the School of Visual Arts. He lives in Brooklyn with his wife and two

About the LEO AWARDS
 Since 1994, The Flaherty/International Films Seminars has annually
presented the LEO AWARDS to recognize excellence in the field of independent
media. The awards are named in honor of Leo Dratfield (1918-1986), a pioneer
of independent and non-theatrical film distribution who sought outstanding
international and independent productions and encouraged their exhibition in
libraries and cultural centers. The LEO AWARDS, funded by the Leo Dratfield
Endowment, are presented in two categories: "Exhibitor, Distributor, or
Programmer" and "Filmmaker or Producer" to individuals or organizations who
most exemplify Dratfield's commitment and spirit and combine a sustained
ability to introduce innovative approaches in independent media. LEO AWARD
recipients have made major contributions to the advancement of American
cinema and their influence permeates the contemporary scene. Past award
winners include filmmakers Les Blank, Michel Brault, William Greaves,
Richard Leacock, Albert and David Maysles, Jonas Mekas, Frederick Wiseman,
and Charlotte Zwerin; and programmers John Columbus, Karen Cooper, Edith
Kramer, Adrienne Mancia, Daniel Talbot, and Amos and Marcia Vogel.

 The Flaherty honors Charles Samu each year by presenting a Samu Award to an
animator for creating a film with a "universal message illuminating our
growing sense of world community." Charles Samu, who was a key player in
creating the Zagreb Animation Festival in the 1970s, was a builder of
cultural bridges for friendship and understanding through the unviersal
language of animation. As did Leo Dratfield, Charls Samu, unselfishly
devoted his life to helping others.

The Flaherty/International Film Seminars
email: email suppressed
6 East 39th Street, 12th Floor
New York, NY 10016
t: 212-448-0457
f: 212-448-0458
email suppressed

------ End of Forwarded Message

For info on FrameWorks, contact Pip Chodorov at <email suppressed>.